The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA)

tppa banner

The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) is a comprehensive free trade agreement that involves twelve countries – Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States of America and Vietnam. Unlike traditional bilateral trade agreements, the TPPA includes market access to goods, services, investments, intellectual property rights protection, and harmonising rules for cross sectoral issues such as labour issues and government procurement.

In three reports on TPPA, we evaluate: 1) Malaysian firms’ competitiveness; 2) the impact on Penang’s economy; and 3) provide some background trade data as well as links to the relevant chapters to understanding TPPA, especially the non-conforming measures granted to Malaysia in TPPA.

bt tppa competitiveness of malaysian firms bt tppa impact on penang bt tppa statistics